Press Release back to list







Many Seasons of the Classic CBS Comedy Variety Show
Have Never Been Seen Beyond Their Original Broadcast



LOS ANGELES – JANUARY 16, 2018 – CBS Television Distribution (CTD) announced today that it has acquired digital multicast rights for all 11 seasons of the multi-Emmy and Golden Globe Award-winning “Carol Burnett Show” from Carol Burnett.


The agreement, which comes as the legendary show celebrates its 50th anniversary, provides CTD with rights to over 276 hours of the classic comedy showcase – many episodes of which have never been seen beyond their original broadcast. “The Carol Burnett Show,” which starred Carol Burnett, Vicki Lawrence, Lyle Waggoner, Tim Conway and the late Harvey Korman was recently honored by CBS with a 2-hour, 50th anniversary network special that was shot on the show’s original Stage 33 at CBS Television City in Los Angeles. Ratings for the special were outstanding, drawing an audience of 17.18 million viewers, making it the most-watched entertainment special since the 2017 Academy Awards.


“The Carol Burnett Show” premiered on Monday, September 11, 1967 and consistently ranked among the very top shows on television through its 11-year run. In December 1972, when the show was moved to Saturday nights, it anchored an incredible CBS lineup that also included such hall of fame comedies as “All in the Family,” “M*A*S*H,” “The Mary Tyler Moore Show,” and “The Bob Newhart Show.”


“I’m thrilled to be back home at CBS, and I’m so happy that future generations will be able to see and enjoy the fun we had in those 11 wonderful years,” Burnett said.


“Carol Burnett is one of the very finest comedic performers in the history of television,” said Paul Franklin, President of CTD. “Acquiring digital rights to her library allows us to not only ensure that the show’s legacy is protected, but that her genius is also shared with audiences for years to come.”





About The Carol Burnett Show:

“The Carol Burnett Show” premiered on Sept. 11, 1967 and starred Carol Burnett, Harvey Korman, Vicki Lawrence, Lyle Waggoner and Tim Conway. Airing for 11 seasons, the show earned a total of 25 Primetime Emmy Awards, including three for Outstanding Variety-Music/Comedy Series. In addition, the show earned eight Golden Globe Awards, including one for Best Television Show – Comedy or Musical, and Burnett received four for Best Actress – Comedy or Musical.


About CBS Television Distribution:

CBS Television Distribution is the preeminent company in television syndication. CTD produces or distributes 10 first-run series, including the long-running, critically acclaimed hits Judge Judy, Dr. Phil, Entertainment Tonight, Wheel of Fortune, Jeopardy!, Inside Edition and Rachael Ray, and holds the largest distributed television library at 70,000 hours strong. CTD’s popular off-network product includes the CSI, NCIS and Star Trek franchises, as well as classic series such as Everybody Loves Raymond and Frasier. In addition, CTD handles the domestic television distribution of CBS Television Studios, CBS News, CBS Films and Showtime. CTD is a unit of CBS Corp. For more information, go to

* * *






Leslie Ryan